Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences
Open navigation Close navigation
Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences
Project SAM, KI

SAM

SAM (Language Segmentation and its Application in Meetings) funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)

Context

Automated processing of spoken language is a fundamental component of many applications that have found their way into our everyday lives. This includes dialog systems in telephone customer service as well as digital voice-based assistance that aim to make our everyday tasks easier; e.g. Apple's Siri, Microsoft's Cortana, or Amazon's Alexa. Although automated speech processing has proven itself in these systems, there are application areas in which the processing and recognition of spoken language continue to be a major challenge. One such area, which in addition to the technical challenge holds a high user potential, is automated speech processing in real as well as in virtual meetings.

Video conferences and virtual meetings are forms of communication used by many business teams that implement projects together in branch offices spread across several cities and countries. Speech processing in multi-participant meeting rooms is complicated because there are often multiple participants talking simultaneously, there is overlap during rapid speaker changes, and there is usually only one microphone placed in the room.

The use of automated speech processing and enhancement in combination with new, cost-effective solutions for miking the meeting rooms for multi-channel recordings holds immense potential to make virtual meetings more pleasant and efficient for all participants. In addition to improving the quality of the audio signal in virtual meetings, this relates in particular to possibilities for automatic speaker identification as well as smart meeting guidance, which can provide automated feedback to participants in real-time - for example, about poor audio quality.

Project goals

The SAM project aims to develop methods and applications that improve communication in virtual meetings as well as their organizational flow to increase the efficiency of meetings. This includes the development of cost-effective methods for improving the audio signal in meeting rooms as well as new solutions for segmenting the audio signal. Each segment can be assigned to corresponding speakers, which helps to identify who spoke when, where, and for how long. Accurate speaker assignment is fundamental for all further steps of speech processing, such as giving feedback to meeting participants about their speaker participation in the form of smart meeting guidance. Since the listed goals are very difficult or even impossible to achieve based on a single-channel recording, as it is often the case in meeting rooms, the aim is to enable multi-channel recordings by interconnecting the microphones of participants' smartphones.

Methods

In this project, new methods for improving audio signal quality and segmentation for speaker assignment are being developed. The proposed approaches combine methods of signal processing, to emphasize certain properties of the audio signal, with new developments in the field of deep learning for segmentation and speaker assignment. Complementing these methods, the project team will develop an app that makes it possible to implement a multi-channel recording based on an ad-hoc microphone array by interconnecting the microphones of several smartphones.

Status

Ongoing project 11/2019-10/2022

This project is funded by

The project "Language Segmentation and its Applications in Meetings (SAM)" is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) through the programme „Research at Universities of Applied Sciences (FHprofUnt 2018)“ with a duration until October 2022.

Contact

Institut of Applied Research
Project manager

Prof. Dr. Ingo Stengel

phone: +49 (0)721 925-2968
ingo.stengelspam prevention@h-ka.de

Contact

Institute of Applied Research
Project manager

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Wölfel

phone: +49 (0)721 925-1491
matthias.woelfelspam prevention@h-ka.de

Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences
Navigation öffnen Navigation schließen
Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences
Projekt SAM_KI

SAM

BMBF-Projekt: Sprachsegmentierung und ihre Anwendungen in Meetings (SAM)

Ausgangslage

Die automatisierte Verarbeitung gesprochener Sprache ist ein grundlegender Bestandteil vieler Anwendungen, die Einzug in unseren Alltag gefunden haben. Dies umfasst Dialogsysteme im telefonischen Kundenservice ebenso wie digitale sprachbasierte Assistenzsysteme, die in Form von Apples Siri, Microsofts Cortana oder Amazons Alexa unsere Alltagsaufgaben erleichtern wollen. Obgleich sich die automatisierte Sprachverarbeitung in diesen Systemen bewährt hat, gibt es Anwendungsbereiche in denen die Verarbeitung und Erkennung gesprochener Sprache weiterhin eine große Herausforderung darstellt. Ein solcher Bereich, der neben der technischen Herausforderung ein hohes Nutzerpotential birgt, ist die automatisierte Sprachverarbeitung in virtuellen Meetings.

Videokonferenzen und virtuelle Meetings sind die Kommunikationsformen vieler Business Teams, die verteilt in Zweigstellen über mehrere Städte und Länder gemeinsam Projekte umsetzen. Die Sprachverarbeitung in Besprechungsräumen mit mehreren Teilnehmern ist erschwert, da häufig mehrere Teilnehmende durcheinandersprechen, eine Überlappung bei schnellen Sprecherwechseln stattfindet und zumeist nur ein Mikrofon im Raum platziert ist.

Der Einsatz von automatisierter Sprachverarbeitung in Kombination mit neuen, kostengünstigen Lösungen zur Mikrofonierung der Besprechungsräume für Mehrkanalaufnahmen birgt hier ein immenses Potential, um virtuelle Meetings für alle Teilnehmer angenehmer und effizienter zu gestalten. Neben einer Verbesserung der Qualität des Audiosignals in virtuellen Meetings betrifft dies insbesondere Möglichkeiten der automatischen Sprecheridentifikation sowie der Smart Meeting Guidance, die den Teilnehmenden automatisiert in Echtzeit Rückmeldung geben kann – etwa über eine schlechte Audioqualität.

Ziele

Das Projekt SAM hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Verfahren und Anwendungen zu entwickeln, die die Kommunikation in virtuellen Meetings sowie deren organisatorischen Ablauf verbessern, um die Effizienz der Meetings zu steigern. Dies umfasst die Entwicklung kostengünstiger Verfahren zur Verbesserung des Audiosignals in Besprechungsräumen ebenso wie neue Lösungsansätze zur Segmentierung des Audiosignals. Diese Segmentierung dient der Zuordnung des Audiosignals zu den entsprechenden Sprechern, um eindeutig identifizieren zu können, wer wann, wo und wie lange gesprochen hat. Eine akkurate Sprecherzuordnung ist grundlegend für alle weiteren Schritte der Sprachverarbeitung, wie zum Beispiel Feedback an die Meeting Teilnehmer über ihre Sprecherbeteiligung in Form von Smart Meeting Guidance. Da die aufgeführten Ziele auf Basis einer Einkanalaufnahme, wie sie oftmals in Besprechungsräumen vorliegt, nur sehr schwer bis kaum umsetzbar sind, wird angestrebt, Mehrkanalaufnahmen durch die Zusammenschaltung von Mikrophonen der Smartphones von Teilnehmern zu ermöglichen.

Methoden

In diesem Projekt werden neue Verfahren zur Verbesserung der Audiosignalqualität und Segmentierung der Audiosignale zur Sprecherzuordnung entwickelt. Die Lösungsansätze kombinieren Methoden der Signalverarbeitung zur Hervorhebung bestimmter Eigenschaften des Audiosignals mit neuen Entwicklungen im Bereich des Deep Learnings zur Segmentierung und Sprecherzuordnung. Ergänzend zu diesen Verfahren wird eine App entwickelt, die es ermöglicht, über die Zusammenschaltung der Mikrophone mehrerer Smartphones eine Mehrkanalaufnahme auf Basis eines Ad-Hoc Microphone Arrays umzusetzen.

Stand

Laufendes Projekt 11/2019-10/2022

Dieses Projekt wird gefördert von

Das Projekt „Sprachsegmentierung und ihre Anwendungen in Meetings (SAM)“ ist finanziert durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) über das Programm „Forschung an Fachhochschulen mit Unternehmen (FHprofUnt 2018)“ mit einer Laufzeit bis Oktober 2022.

Kontakt

Institut für Angewandte Forschung
Projektleitung

Prof. Dr. Ingo Stengel

Tel.: +49 (0)721 925-2968
ingo.stengelspam prevention@h-ka.de

Kontakt

Institut für Angewandte Forschung
Projektleitung

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Matthias Wölfel

Tel.: +49 (0)721 925-1491
matthias.woelfelspam prevention@h-ka.de