Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences
Open navigation Close navigation
Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences
KI5GRob Roboter betrachtet Schema von Industrieprozessen

KI5GRob

Cloud computing and 5G as enablers for new sensor technologies in robot-based production and logistics

Context

Intelligent and autonomous robot-based production and logistics systems will play a central role in Germany's competitiveness. The fusion of cloud technologies and AI with the robotics of the production and logistics world is considered one of the key concepts for the implementation of such systems. Utilizing advanced cloud concepts in conjunction with 5G technology, cloud, and on-site robotic systems can be tightly coupled in real-time.

 

Project goals

In order to advance the fusion of cloud technologies and AI with robotics in the production and logistics world, the project KI5GRob focuses on three research questions in particular and develops suitable solutions:

 

  • What are suitable AI methods for multimodal sensor signal processing and interpretation for the flexible use of robots in handling tasks in production and logistics?
  • Which software and hardware architecture or communication infrastructure is suitable to provide and use such modern computationally intensive planning and AI methods in combination with robots easily and in real-time in terms of novel CaaS concepts (Control as a Service)?
  • What are the implications of using architecture and AI practices for developers, integrators, and operators, and how can a clear, usable design be achieved?

The flexible robot-based handling, i.e. grasping and especially targeted placing, of many, highly varying objects is still an unsolved problem in logistics due to its complexity. Therefore, this will serve as a demonstrator and evaluation in KI5GRob.

KI5GRob hereby addresses how machine learning can be efficiently used in robotics in a new way, by closely linking cloud technologies and robotics in a tight control loop and how the concept pursued can fundamentally simplify the programming and maintenance of robot systems. The solution of the above questions holds great potential for the future realization of autonomous intelligent robot systems for application in production and logistics.

Methods

Compared to the state of the art the project has a high level of innovation due to the novel combination of scientific methods from the fields of cloud computing and AI methods with real-time connection via 5G to robotic systems.

 

The use of tactile proximity sensors in combination with 3D image processing for the research and development of new AI-based pick-and-place strategies is investigated in the scope of the project. A mobile robot of the Robogistics-Lab equipped with a manipulator, camera, and gripper will serve as a physical demonstrator for this purpose.

In addition, research will focus on providing computing power and data storage in the cloud, required for AI procedures as well as the cloud infrastructure that enables the use of AI procedures and robot control in real-time via 5G for mobile robots. To demonstrate the designed architecture concepts first, the lab (stationary robot, commissioning system) and the previously used mobile robot system are equipped with 5G communication components and connected to the planed GPU computer and the cloud computer of the Robogistics-Lab .

 

Status

Ongoing project 11/2020-04/2025

 

Project consortium

Network Coordinator

Hochschule Karlsruhe – Technik und Wirtschaft

Institute of Applied Research
Project manager

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Björn Hein

phone: +49 (0)721-925-1942
bjoern.heinspam prevention@h-ka.de

Project manager
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Wurll

phone: +49 (0)151 42237283
christian.wurllspam prevention@h-ka.de

This project is funded by

The KI5GRob project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)   and  KUKA Deutchland AG as part o the funding line "Research at Universities of Applied Sciences"

 

Contact

Institute of Applied Research
Project manager

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Björn Hein

phone: +49 (0)721-925-1942
bjoern.heinspam prevention@h-ka.de

Project manager
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Wurll

phone: +49 (0)151 42237283
christian.wurllspam prevention@h-ka.de

 

Research Group Robotics and Intelligent Systems (iRAS) at IAF: Students around Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Wurll at a KUKA industrial robot

Research Group Robotics and Autonomous Systems iRAS at IAF

The project KI5GRob is located within the Research Group "Robotics and Autonomous Systems- iRAS" at IAF

Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences
Navigation öffnen Navigation schließen
Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences

KI5GRob

Cloud-Computing und 5G als Befähiger für neue Sensortechnologien in der roboterbasierten Produktion und Logistik

Ausgangslage

Für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit Deutschlands werden intelligente und autonome roboter-basierte Produktions- und Logistiksysteme eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Die Fusion von Cloudtechnologien und KI mit der Robotik der Produktions- und Logistikwelt gilt als eines der Schlüsselkonzepte für die Umsetzung solcher Systeme. Mittels aktueller erweiterter Cloud-Konzepte in Verbindung mit der 5G Technologie können Cloud und vor Ort agierende Robotersysteme engmaschig und in Echtzeit verzahnt werden.

Projektziele

Um die Fusion von Cloudtechnologien und KI mit der Robotik der Produktions- und Logistikwelt voran zu bringen, sollen in KI5GRob insbesondere drei Fragestellungen erforscht und Lösungen entwickelt werden:

  • Was sind geeignete KI-Verfahren für die multimodale Sensorsignalverarbeitung und -interpretation für den flexiblen Einsatz von Robotern in Handhabungsaufgaben in Produktion und Logistik?
  • Welche Soft- und Hardwarearchitektur bzw. Kommunikationsinfrastruktur ist geeignet, um solche modernen rechenintensiven Plan- und KI-Verfahren in Kombination mit Robotern einfach und in Echtzeit im Sinne neuartiger CaaS-Konzepte (Control as a Service) bereitstellen und einsetzen zu können?
  • Welche Auswirkungen ergeben sich für Entwickler, Integratoren und Betreiber aus dem Einsatz der Architektur und der KI-Verfahren und wie kann die Handhabbarkeit realisiert werden?

Die flexible roboterbasierte Handhabung, d. h. Griff und insbesondere gezielte Ablage, von vielen, stark variierenden Objekten stellt in der Logistik aufgrund der Komplexität immer noch ein ungelöstes Problem dar. Daher soll diese in KI5GRob als Demonstrator und zur Evaluation dienen.

KI5GRob adressiert hiermit in neuer Art und Weise, wie durch enge Verknüpfung von Cloud-Technologien und Robotik in einer engen Regelschleife maschinelle Lernverfahren in der Robotik effizient eingesetzt werden können und wie durch das verfolgte Konzept die Programmierung und Wartung von Robotersystemen grundlegend vereinfacht werden kann. Die Lösung obiger Fragestellungen birgt großes Potential für die künftige Realisierung autonomer intelligenter Robotersysteme zur Anwendung in Produktion und Logistik.

Methoden

Das Projekt hat aufgrund der im Vergleich zum Stand der Technik neuartigen Kombination wissenschaftlicher Methoden aus den Bereichen Cloud Computing und KI-Verfahren mit Echtzeitanbindung mittels 5G an Robotersysteme eine große Innovationshöhe.

Betrachtet wird der Einsatz von taktilen Näherungssensoren in Kombination mit 3D Bildverarbeitung für die Erforschung und Entwicklung neuer KI-basierter Greif- und Ablegestrategien. Als physischer Demonstrator soll hierzu ein mobiler Roboter des Robogistics-Labs ausgerüstet mit Manipulator, Kamera und Greifer verwendet werden.

Zudem werden die für KI-Verfahren notwendige Bereitstellung von Rechenleistung und Datenspeicher wie auch die Cloud-Infrastruktur in der Cloud für den Einsatz von KI-Verfahren und der echtzeitfähigen Bereitstellung über 5G in der mobilen Robotik erforscht.  Zur Demonstration der entworfenen Architekturkonzepte werden zunächst das Labor (stationärer Roboter, Kommissioniersystem) und das bereits zuvor verwendet mobile Robotersystem mit 5G Kommunikationskomponenten ausgerüstet und an den eingeplanten GPU-Rechner und den Cloud-Rechner des Robogistics-Lab angeschlossen.

 

Stand

Laufendes Projekt 11/2020-04/2025

Projektkonsortium

Verbundkoordinator

Hochschule Karlsruhe

Institut für Angewandte Forschung
Projektmanager

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Björn Hein

Tel.: +49 (0)721-925-1942
bjoern.heinspam prevention@h-ka.de

Projektmanager
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Wurll

Tel.: +49 (0)151 42237283
christian.wurllspam prevention@h-ka.de

Das Projekt wird gefördert von

Das Projekt KI5GRob wird im Rahmen der Förderlinien "FH-Kooperativ" gefördert durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Kontakt

Insitut für Angewandte Forschung
Projektleitung

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Björn Hein

Tel.: +49 (0)721-925-1942
bjoern.heinspam prevention@h-ka.de

Projektleitung
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Wurll

Tel.: +49 (0)151 42237283
christian.wurllspam prevention@h-ka.de

 

Forschungsgruppe Robotik und Intelligente Systeme (iRAS) am IAF: Studierende um Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Wurll an einem KUKA Industrieroboter

Forschungsgruppe Robotik und Autonome Systeme iRAS am IAF

Das Projekt KI5GRob ist in der Forschungsgruppe "Robotik und Autonome Systeme- iRAS" am IAF angesiedelt.