Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences
Open navigation Close navigation
Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences

Bachelor International

In order to make it easier for its students to go abroad, the HKA is currently preparing the introduction of an international study option for all 6- and 7-semester bachelor's programs as part of the "BA.International@HKA" project funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) and the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).

In the new BA.International study option, the duration of studies will be extended by one regular semester (30 credit points (CP)) and thus to a total of eight semesters (240 CP).

Two "international" semesters will be part of this program: one study semester and/or one internship semester abroad in addition to a semester with study credits at a foreign university, or via "virtual/blended mobility", i.e. through (partially) digitalized courses with an international orientation. Since the workload of the “normal" degree program can generally be completed in seven semesters, interdisciplinary lectures can be attended during the additional international semester. As such, especially during your semester abroad, you will be able to take courses that are not directly related to your subject or that focus on aspects that may not be entirely covered at HKA.

As part of the coursework required for the "international" degree pathway you need to successfully participate in the International Competence module (6 CP), which consists of a seminar-style course on intercultural competence prior to the semester abroad and active mentoring for visiting students subsequently to the semester abroad.

Another component of this study option are advanced foreign language skills in two foreign languages, which need to be demonstrated by the time of graduation. One of these languages have to be English. You can also use your semester abroad to become proficient in a foreign language, which should of course be easier in an appropriate linguistic and cultural environment than at home.

The BA.International option will also include acquiring the new Certificate of International and Intercultural Competence (CIIC), with which you can prove your international and intercultural competence.

Successful completion of this new international study option is to be indicated on the degree certificate by adding "International" after the degree title. For example, you will earn a degree in "Mechanical Engineering International" or "Business Information Systems International". This study variant is scheduled to start in the winter semester of 2022/2023, and you will be able to apply for it after your third semester.

For more information on this new program, please contact the project coordinator Marie Wee at the International Office

Contact

International Office
Marie Rüppell-Wee

Tel.: +49 (0)721 925-1087
Fax: +49 (0)721 925-1089
marie.weespam prevention@h-ka.de

Geb. R, Raum 007
Moltkestraße 30
76133 Karlsruhe

Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences
Navigation öffnen Navigation schließen
Hochschule Karlsruhe Hochschule Karlsruhe - University of Applied Sciences
Weltkarte

Um ihren Studierenden den Weg ins Ausland zu erleichtern, bereitet die HKA derzeit im Rahmen des vom Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst (DAAD) geförderten Projekts „BA.International@HKA“ für alle 7-semestrigen Bachelorstudiengänge die Einführung einer internationalen Studienvariante vor. 

Bei der neuen internationalen Bachelorvariante wird die Studiendauer um ein reguläres Fachsemester (30 Credit Points (CP)) und damit auf insgesamt acht Semester (240 CP) verlängert.

Dabei sind insgesamt zwei „internationale“ Semester vorgesehen: ein Studien- und/oder ein Praxissemester im Ausland und ein weiteres mit Studienleistungen an einer ausländischen Hochschule oder per "Virtual/Blended Mobility", also durch (teilweise) digitalisierte Lehrveranstaltungen mit internationaler Orientierung. Da das Pensum des ‚normalen‘ Studiengangs im Prinzip in sieben Semestern absolviert werden kann, müssen in dem zusätzlichen internationalen Semester keine Fachvorlesungen besucht werden. Sie können also vor allem in Ihrem Auslandssemester auch fachfremde Lehrveranstaltungen belegen oder auch in Ihrem Fach einen Schwerpunkt auf Aspekte legen, die an der HKA vielleicht nicht oder nicht in dem von Ihnen gewünschten Umfang behandelt werden.

Teil der Studienleistung, die Sie für den Zusatz „International“ erbringen müssen, ist die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an einem neuen Modul Internationale Kompetenz (6 CP), das aus einer seminaristischen Lehrveranstaltung zu interkultureller Kompetenz vor dem Auslandsaufenthalt und aus einer praktischen Mentoring-Tätigkeit für Gaststudierende nach dem Auslandsaufenthalt besteht.

Weiterer Baustein dieser Studienvariante sind fortgeschrittene Fremdsprachenkompetenzen in zwei Fremdsprachen, die bis zum Studienabschluss nachzuweisen sind. Eine dieser Sprachen muss Englisch sein. Ihr Auslandssemester können Sie auch dazu nutzen, sich in einer dieser Sprachen fit zu machen, was in einem entsprechenden sprachlichen und kulturellen Umfeld natürlich leichter sein sollte als zu Hause.

Mit dem BA.International ist außerdem der Erwerb des neuen  Certificate of International and Intercultural Competence (CIIC)  verbunden, mit dem Sie Ihre internationale und interkulturelle Kompetenz belegen können.

Der erfolgreiche Abschluss dieser neuen internationalen Studienvariante soll auf dem Studienzeugnis durch den Zusatz „International“ nach der Studienabschlussbezeichnung ausgewiesen werden – Sie erwerben dann beispielsweise einen Abschluss in „Maschinenbau International“ oder „Wirtschaftsinformatik International“. Starten soll diese Studienvariante zum Wintersemester 2022/2023, und Sie werden sich dafür nach dem dritten Fachsemester bewerben können.

Nähere Informationen zu diesem neuen Programm erhalten Sie von der Projektkoordinatorin Marie Wee  im International Office.

Kontakt

International Office
Marie Rüppell-Wee

Tel.: +49 (0)721 925-1087
Fax: +49 (0)721 925-1089
marie.weespam prevention@h-ka.de

Geb. R, Raum 007
Moltkestraße 30
76133 Karlsruhe